After a poor week last week I am back, ready to back some winners. Port Adelaide saved me from a complete disaster and saved some minor blushing from the author. This week provides a new hope and plenty of sport to add to ‘The Trip Fund’. I have decided to put Rugby League on the backburner this week, with my lack of knowledge clearing showing with last week’s tips. The A-League, Premier League and AFL await this week.

Bet One – Single

Manny Muscat joins a long queue of players unavailable for Wellington this week as they take on Sydney this Sunday. For Sydney this is a must win clash after a draw last week in Melbourne. For Wellington the season is over, and the end of season trip is the main thing on their minds. Sydney has to win to keep the advantage in the finals race against Newcastle. Ignoring a gut feeling I am backing Sydney but cannot put them in a multi.

Sydney $1.75 – Return $17.50

Bet Two – Double

Grand Final rematch and no Luke Hodge points to a Fremantle win for me. The Hawks were lucky to get over the line last week and Fremantle has been at their relentless best. Football – The Ross Lyon way, it might not be attractive football but its winning football. I will probably resort to checking the AFL app on my phone whilst this game is on so I don’t have to watch 2 hours of Lyonesque (No, that isn’t a word kids) abysmal football. I have doubled this with another horrific idea by the AFL, Sunday night football. Essendon should be too good for Carlton; it might be fun to tune in halfway thru the third quarter when Blues fans are calling for the head of Mick Malthouse on a platter.

Fremantle/Essendon $3.25 – Return $32.50

Bet Three – Treble

Its FA Cup semi-final weekend and Arsenal take on the defending champions, Wigan Athletic. Yes that’s right Wigan. Remember them; they played in the Premier league recently. Sadly for Wigan fans (I don’t think any of them are reading this) I think the fairytale will end this weekend at the hands of red hot favourites Arsenal. Adelaide United is back in front of their home crowd against Melbourne Heart. Fans at Hindmarsh have been treated to some great football and Friday night will be no different. If the Lyonesque football gets too much for you tomorrow night find SBS2 and watch some of the round ball, there is a chance you will see more goals too. Finally I have thrown Port Adelaide into the mix as they travel to Melbourne to play North. Last week they were very impressive and based on this I am prepared to take the $1.77 on offer. Fingers crossed.

Arsenal/Adelaide United/Port Adelaide $3.92 – Return $39.20

The Trip Fund $25.48 (-$13 last week)

